What 2016 Taught Me About Public Speaking?

Screen Shot 2017-03-12 at 13.07.58End of each year is always a good occasion for conducting some summaries.

2016 has been another very busy one for me.

When I look back at this year, I could think about how much time I spent away from home on many long and lonely business trips.

Instead, I decided to shift my focus and made a list of all the things that I learned through this experience.

  • For the first time in my life, I presented on a big stage in front of 200 people and..I really enjoyed it! All my experience as a small groups’ trainer paid off when speaking in front of a large group and it didn’t feel much different. I then delivered a short workshop to 80 people in London which I also purely enjoyed. Something that just 4 years would have made me struggle to sleep at night proved to be enjoyable!
  • It turned out that delivering webinars is not very different from doing a face-to-face training. It requires the same amount of preparation in terms of the content, but more focus on a number of words chosen to describe the subject (the time was limited to 20 minutes) and more control of your own emotions.
  • I discovered that I can pass my knowledge on public speaking and organise practice sessions that people are willing to attend
  • I realised that with enough of enthusiasm and dedication I could teach other people to become successful speakers/trainers
  • I learned that during the most difficult time in my private life I could control my emotions and deliver a successful training

How to make 2017 the year of learning?

Every day brings opportunities to learn but it’s great to stop and check if we are actually doing it. And if the answer is ever ‘no’ then I always ask myself what I can do to learn more.

What areas would you like to improve?

If you are not sure, research various learning opportunities – whether this will be classes where you can master your public speaking, financial skills, improve your fitness or discover a new hobby.

If you want to grow and feel more satisfied with your development, put yourself forward to any learning opportunities that come your way. For instance, check any training that is offered by your company, local council or your friends. You may not know why you are doing it to start with or do it for another reason but it will pay off at some point in your life. I did public speaking course 4 years ago because I wanted to improve my communication skills during the business meetings. Little did I know where this will lead me!

Try to fill in gaps in our own understanding. Search for the answers to questions that you ask.

And finally, don’t expect different results by continuously doing what you have done so far.

When you learn, you grow and when you grow you feel fulfilled and that your life/career is going in the right direction.

I will finish with the quote which summarises this article well. It’s from one of my favourite Tedtalk presenters: Ken Robinson.

‘Human resources are like natural resources; they’re often buried deep. You have to go looking for them; they’re not just lying around on the surface’ 

Leave a Reply

